The South Carolina School Plant Management Association Logo CONFERENCE REGISTRATION COMING SOON
A white telephone icon CONTACT US

Contact Us

Use the form below to get in touch with us or ask a question any time.

About Us.

About the SCSPMA

The South Carolina School Plant Management Association (SCSPMA) was organized in the interest of enhancing and promoting the educational process by providing a medium through which Plant Maintenance and Plant Management may be improved.

Our Mission

Strengthen the contribution of Plant Management to the South Carolina educational system.

Promote professional advancement of School Plant Management personnel.

Provide for exchange of information to improve School Plant Management, maintenance and care by promoting acceptable policies, standards, and practices.
Enhance the development and implementation of policies affecting Plant management.

Provide a voice in the promotion of Plant Management in the South Carolina educational system.

Provide technical and management training and upgrading needed for today’s Plant Manager, Maintenance personnel, and Custodians.

Our History & Board

The South Carolina School Plant Management Association was established in 1982 for the purpose of bringing facilities staff members together to share best practices.  Since then, the SCSPMA has enjoyed a long tradition of bringing together industry professionals to learn from one another and advance school districts throughout South Carolina.
Marty Monette
Marty Monette is the Facilities Director at James Island Charter High School and serves on the Board of Directors for the SCSPMA. He appreciates being a part of the SCSPMA and finds value networking with his peers and learning about the latest and greatest industry products at services at the annual conference. The knowledge and insight he gains from the organization helps him operate and maintain his facilities as smoothly as possible.
Email Here
Timmy Anderson
Vice President
Text Here
Email Here
Leon Sturkey
Past president
Leon has been employed by Marion County School District for over 20 years. He currently serves as Director of Operations and oversees all construction and renovation projects for the District. He also supervises athletics, emergency prepardeness, food services, grounds, maintenance, and transportation. Prior to becoming the Director of Operations, he served as a guidance counselor, coach, school athletic director, and district athletic director.
Email Here
James Martin
James Martin is the Electrical Master Foreman and Asset Manager in the Facilities Maintenance & Asset Management Department of the Charleston County School District where he has been employed for 27 years. James has served as the President of the SCSPMA on two occasions and Past President of the NSPMA National School Plant Management Association. 
Email Here
Jim Vicar
Jim Vicar retired from the Beaufort County School District in 2004 after serving 32 years as the Director of Facilities. He has served as the President of the SCSPMA twice and was the first President of the National School Plant Managers Association. Jim has spoken on facility related topics and has delivered over two dozen keynote addresses at various facility associations all over the country.
Email Here
Jo Ann McCrackin
Jo Ann McCrackin has worked with Horry County Schools for 29 years in the Facilities Energy Department and Maintenance Department.
Email Here
Celeste Monette
Celeste Monette worked for Charleston County School District for 10 years as a middle school math teacher. She has an Undergraduate Degree in Business Administration and Masters of Arts in Education.Before becoming an educator, she worked for First Federal of Charleston for 5 years. She currently enjoys staying at home with her youngest child and working with home-bound students for Charleston County School District. She believes the teachers could not do their jobs without the men and women who work so hard behind the scenes keeping the schools and facilities up and running. She says it is a pleasure to work with the board of the SCSPMA and it's members.

Email Here

Our Past Presidents Spotlight

The SCSPMA thanks our past presidents for their service and commitment to providing the best possible facilities for students and staff in schools throughout South Carolina.

Jim Vicar
PRESIDENT 1984 - 1985 AND 1992 - 1993
Jim's has been committed to the South Carolina School Plant Management Association for over 30 years. He has served as the SCSPMA President twice and as the President of the National School Plant Management Association. The SCSPMA is fortunate to have him serve as the Executive Director of the SCSPMA and it continues to be our pleasure to work with him. The Vicar Award, named after Jim, is among the highest honor that we can bestow on a colleague.
Kasler Hughes
PRESIDENT 1982 - 1983
Charles Gainey
PRESIDENT 1983 - 1984
Jim Vicar
PRESIDENT 1984 - 1985
Edgar B. Thomas
PRESIDENT 1985 - 1986
Richard Mullinax
PRESIDENT 1986 - 1987
Gorver C. Rakes
PRESIDENT 1987 - 1988
Billy Nicholson
PRESIDENT 1988 - 1989
Lenny Goethe
PRESIDENT 1989 - 1990
William Gunnells
PRESIDENT 1990 - 1991
Kasler Hughes
PRESIDENT 1991 - 1992
Jim Vicar
PRESIDENT 1992 - 1993
Arnold Coley
PRESIDENT 1993 - 1994
Don Camby
PRESIDENT 1994 - 1995
Danny Fowler
PRESIDENT 1995 - 1996
Vernon Prosser
PRESIDENT 1996 - 1997
Art Cornelius
PRESIDENT 1997 - 1998
Brant Cromer
PRESIDENT 1998 - 1999
Ed Estridge
PRESIDENT 1999 - 2000
Dickey McCuen
PRESIDENT 2000 - 2001
Alan Easler
PRESIDENT 2001 - 2002
Ron Kane
PRESIDENT 2002 - 2003
Mike Armour
PRESIDENT 2003 - 2004
Brian Vaughan
PRESIDENT 2004 - 2005
Mike Johnson
PRESIDENT 2005 - 2006
Ronnie Wiggins
PRESIDENT 2006 - 2007
Kenny Blakeney
PRESIDENT 2007 - 2008
Connie Ward
PRESIDENT 2008 - 2009
Ed Estridge
PRESIDENT 2009 - 2010
Jim Arneman
PRESIDENT 2010 - 2011
David Hogge
PRESIDENT 2011 - 2012
James Martin
PRESIDENT 2012 - 2013
Greg Holliday
PRESIDENT 2013 - 2014
James Martin
PRESIDENT 2012 - 2013
Greg Holliday
PRESIDENT 2013 - 2014
James Martin
PRESIDENT 2014 - 2015
Dewayne Miles
PRESIDENT 2015 - 2016
Dewayne Miles
PRESIDENT 2016 - 2017
Kenny Blakeney
PRESIDENT 2017 - 2018
Leon Sturkey
President 2018-2019